The National Standards for Family-School Partnerships and their quality indicators are research based and grounded in both sound philosophy and practical experience. 


    Standard 1

    Welcoming all families into the school community

    Families are active participants in the life of the school, and feel welcomed, valued, and connected to each other, to school staff, and to what students are learning and doing in class.


    Standard 2

    Communicating effectively

    Families and school staff engage in regular, two-way, meaningful communication about student learning.


    Standard 3

    Supporting student success

    Families and school staff continuously collaborate to support students’ learning and healthy development both at home and at school, and have regular opportunities to strengthen their knowledge and skills to do so effectively.


    Standard 4

    Speaking up for every child

    Families are empowered to be advocates for their own and other children, to ensure that students are treated fairly and have access to learning opportunities that will support their success.


    Standard 5

    Sharing power

    Families and school staff are equal partners in decisions that affect children and families and together inform, influence, and create policies, practices, and programs.


    Standard 6

    Collaborating with community

    Families and school staff collaborate with community members to connect students, families, and staff to expanded learning opportunities, community services, and civic participation.




    National Standards for Family-School Partnerships is a quick-reference booklet describing the six national standards in detail. To purchase a copy, contact the state PTA office.